Japanese Pleats Gift Wrapping ~Basic Pleating Design~

Japanese Pleating design is one of the great ways to create a memorable presentation for your gift wrapping.

Traditionally, odd number pleats are used for happy occasions while even numbers represent sad occasions like funerals. Today, many designers improvise their own pleating styles to enhance the art of gift wrapping.

Pleating Styles

Linear pleating design is the very basic style. You can adjust the width and numbers of the pleats depending on the size of your package. Here is the tutorial video, enjoy!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. How interesting! I didn’t realise that the even number pleats have to do with sad occasions. In modern days, do Japanese people still keep this belief? Would people be offended if they get an odd number pleats on a happy occasion (if the sender is not aware of this belief, or that the sender can’t do simple maths. 🙂 )

    The pink paper you used looks like tissue type paper. In ordinary stiff paper, I don’t think you could raise the pleats like you did.

    Do you normally just use clear tape as double sided tape? I used to do that as a child, as we couldn’t afford the double sided tapes.

    By the way, washi tape seems to be getting more popular these days in the west. Do you use washi tape in your projects?

    Thank you for yet another impressive gift wrapping.

    1. I use both clear tape and double sided tape for my gift wrapping. I agree that the double sided tape can be expensive 😦

      I have selections of washi tape for my craft projects but never used for my videos…maybe next time!

  2. Carol-Anne says:

    Absolutely beautifully done. Thanks

  3. I was blown away! I bought the Jane Means book on the same technique and it confused me to the point of giving up. I am so amazed by these videos……I am off to try (and try!) again. Thank you soooooo very much for the inspiration……. and the invaluable hint about the number of pleats. That could be disastrous. You are amazing 🙂

    1. Hi Kelly-Louise,
      Thank you for your kind words! It makes me happy to know my videos are inspiring.
      Your comments inspire me to keep making these videos! 🙂

  4. I’ve now watched almost all videos on your YouTube channel and just wanted to say how absolutely stunning your gift wrapping is! I was also wondering if you’re going do make any more videos on Japanese pleating technique. Best, Sarah

    1. Thank you for watching my videos! Japanese Gift Wrapping is one of the main categories for my videos and I will continue to make more tutorials for various pleating techniques 🙂

  5. Linda says:

    Absolutely inspiring! Even for someone elderly, as I am.
    Thank you for simplicity! By the way, I just discovered your web-site and I went shopping for wrapping paper yesterday. I am watching and pleating as we speak.
    Linda

    1. Hi Linda, thank you for your kind comment. So nice to hear that my video inspired you to create your own package! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

